Day 398: The Reality of Films

 

The Reality of Films: in a way this could be underneath more broadly, the redefinition of Entertainment, and using films for self support.

 

Something I’ve been doing in watching films is to move my focus from the narrative and onto the actors and extras with their lines and instructions: a couple of people on the sidewalk just walking along in the background, window shopping, people driving cars along, simulating traffic, or else coming together to simulate a crowd, or those two people sitting at the back of the café, the faces in the crowd, simulating characters, behaviours, a dog exactly as itself looks into the camera lens, gets filmed and framed into the story, and yet seems kind of – anomalous – within this simulated world, and welcome, to me; I like that way a dog can look at you from somewhere real.

 

As a medium that presents itself through the frame of Entertainment, as strictly surface only, the film remains reflective of our consciousness, is abundant with reflections of a deeper narrative, the cultural narrative of what is accepted and allowed as ‘how it is’, as what matters, as what is worthy, what is not, what is good, what is human, and so themes such as human supremacy, the justice of blame, the rights of personality and secret mind are so well established in the repeated daily story that they become the context in which the action happens. Even in the controlled environment of a fiction, we are exposing to ourselves in plain sight the nature of own reality, where yes we see the wanton destruction of the earth and violated rights of life, as normal, as incidental to the drive of the narrative.

 

In a way in Entertainment, it is like we stand for momentary protection of our ‘suspense of disbelief’ experience, so that the emotion/feeling thrill experience can remain front-stage in our minds. There is a Reward and Leisure construct in Entertainment, that reward being participation with the projection, participation with the drama.

 

For me, a specific point of support has been in observing who I am within reacting to a moment in a film, what it is about this hook or that hook, that might suddenly get under my skin and then cause different movements of energy and adrenalin in my body, changes in my breathing, change of focus and intensity, being suddenly on the edge of my seat, where suddenly I have taken and absorbed it personally, the projection of the film story and the projection of my own story slide over each other and match in some essential way, and I experience my own emotional dynamics, writ large, while in my internal world, what matters is suddenly clear, it still exists within this emotional experience of me, that point of mattering to me comes up, such as in the realisations that accompany a jerk of tears. Mattering: I mean here this essential experience of me entangled as it were within these points that I am seeing illustrated on the screen, that I see I am invested in, participating in, that I see I have not resolved, and in the tears I experience a temporary release of some vital issue in me that I was hardly aware of. Some vital issue: I mean like for example simulated experience of connection, or acceptance, or validation, or recognition, and only temporary, because there is no self in the projected world, in the simulation, no self connection, self acceptance, self validation, self recognition.

 

Dispute: in the world of drama, films, I experience how I have been living my definition of the word Dispute: when the narrative of the film escalates into quarrelling and exertions of blame, expressions of spite, those frequencies kind of jangle uncomfortably in my chest. Here observing me I see it is a moment in which I have shifted: I have taken it personally, that jangling in my physical body comes with this, and I am energized, magnetized in my attention that switches from the observations of the film itself, to a focus on the faces of the characters, a focus of anxiety, frustration, sort of aligning myself from moment to moment with different emotional concerns, conflicting ones, and I am caught up into it, embroiled in it. That fascination is itself like a magnetic lockdown that I have accepted and allowed in my relationship towards Dispute.

 

The interpretation of fascination: I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to define this fascination experience by my justifications and interpretations of it, focused on the conflict that seems to exist on the screen. Seeing as this word Fascination is coming up: I commit myself to walk equal with this word as my engagement with a point, in which I do not give away my power, through which fascination takes on rigidity and stuckness and a blinkering effect, as I see I would prefer a fascination that more exists defined within the context of an awesomeness of everything one and equal, in which one specific fascination is kind of lightly touched on in a directed way, rather than like the experience of being pulled into the field of a magnet.

 

Here with the reality of film, I can use the film to support me in showing me my own projections, in this example, who and how I am with the simulation of emotional Dispute.

 

 

 

 

 

Redefining and Living Words – SOUL –  The School of Ultimate Living 

eqafe.com – Invest in a wide range of Interviews and Support yourself to Self Perfection
Journey To Life Blogs – Read the blogs from those walking the 7 year journey to life.
Self and Living – Practical Living Support To Live to Your Utmost Potential
DIP Lite – Free Online Course to get you started with learning the Tools of Self Support
DIP PRO -A Desteni Course for those Ready to Walk the Journey to Life

SOUL –  The School of Ultimate Living is an online community of people interested in
discovering and developing their utmost potential
eqafe.com – Invest in a wide range of Interviews and Support yourself to Self Perfection
Journey To Life Blogs – Read the blogs from those walking the 7 year journey to life.
Self and Living – Practical Living Support To Live to Your Utmost Potential
DIP Lite – Free Online Course to get you started with learning the Tools of Self Support
DIP PRO -A Desteni Course for those Ready to Walk the Journey to Life

~ by adamsblogs on July 6, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
